Darshan is derived from the Sanskrit, darsana, meaning “sight,” “vision” or “appearance.” In Hinduism, darshan is the act of beholding a deity, divine person, sacred object or natural spectacle, especially in a physical image form. Darshan also refers to the six Hindu philosophical systems: Samkhya, Yoga, Nyaya, Vaisheshika, Purva Mimamsa and Vedanta.

The darshan of yoga is thousands of years old. The system and teachings of yoga darshan were codified and organized by Patanjali into the Yoga Sutras. Patanjali was not the creator of yoga, nor was he the first yoga teacher. However, he was the first that systematized and collected this darshan into one writing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s