Purushartha is a key concept in Hinduism, referring to the four ultimate goals of human life. The term is derived from two Sanskrit roots; purusha, meaning “human being,” and artha, meaning “purpose” or “objective.” As such, purushartha can be translated as the “object of human pursuit” or “purpose of human beings.”

Arranged in order of priority from lowest to highest, the four purushartha are: artha (prosperity and economic values), kama (sensual pleasures), dharma (righteousness and morality), and moksha (liberation from the cycle of reincarnation).

Whilst all four of these goals are considered to be important, Hindu philosophy gives precedence to dharma over artha and kama, and moksha is viewed above all as the ultimate aim of all human life.

Purushartha may also sometimes be referred to as caturvarga.

5 thoughts on “~Purushartha~”

  1. These are 4 said to be pillers.
    Artha: Money, property, prosperity
    Kama: Desires
    Dharma: That is main path to follow.
    Moksha. Liberation. Final goal.
    Escape from the cycle of births and deaths.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s