~Pancha Jnanendriya~

Pancha jnanendriya are the five means of perceiving, or the sensory organs. The term comes from the Sanskrit, pancha, meaning “five”; jnana, meaning “awareness” or “higher knowledge”; and indriya, meaning “sense” or “organ.” They are known as the lower sense organs that allow humans to perceive the world around them.

The pancha jnanendriya include the nose (ghrana), eyes (caksu), tongue (rasana), skin (tvak) and ears (srotra). They are related to, but differ from, the five senses, known as the pancha tanmatra: smell, form, taste, touch and sound.

4 thoughts on “~Pancha Jnanendriya~”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s