Yoga {8} ~ The Yoga Sutras & The Eight Limbs Of Yoga

The Yoga Sutras contain 196 Sutras, divided between four chapters, discussing the aims and practice of yoga, the development of yogic powers and finally, liberation. Like a gentle guiding hand, the Yoga Sutras warn you of the pitfalls on your spiritual journey and offer the means to overcome them.

The Yoga Sutras contain a set of observances and practices to guide your spiritual journey. These are known as the Eight Limbs of Yoga.

  • Yama: Correct behavior toward others.

~Not stealing
~Not wasting energy
~Abstaining from greed

  • Niyama: The principles by which you should live your own life

~Spiritual observances

  • Asana: The seat of consciousness; the yogi’s seat and postures to prepare the body.
  • Pranayama: Expanding the life force through breathing exercises.
  • Pratyahara: Turning the senses inward to explore the inner universe.
  • Dharana: Effortless focused attention; training the mind to meditate.
  • Dhyana: A continuous flow, meditation perfected.
  • Samadhi: Lost or found in the Divine; unity.

The first four yamas prepare the body for the next three, which take you to the doorway of the eighth.

Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi practiced together is known as Sanyama. Settling the mind, having a subtle intention, and releasing it into the field of Infinite Organizing Power gives you knowledge of the laws of nature of an object and Yogic Powers (Siddhis).

2 thoughts on “Yoga {8} ~ The Yoga Sutras & The Eight Limbs Of Yoga”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s