Patalas is a Sanskrit term that refers to the seven lower worlds, or planes of existence in Hindu philosophy. Patalas is typically translated as “netherworld” or “underworld,” and it is often referred to by various other names, the most common being the seven lower lokas. It is also called sapta adho-loka in Sanskrit while the seven upper lokas are called the seven vyahritis or sapta urdhvaloka.

In the singular, it also refers to the lowest of the seven lower realms.

Whereas in the Hindu tradition the Puranas list the 14 lokas, Jainism and Buddhism accept a different number.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s