Saiva refers to the branch of Hinduism dedicated to the worship of Shiva as the supreme deity. Saiva is the name of a believer and is also used as an adjective, as in the “Saiva School of Hinduism.” Saivism – also spelled Shaivism – is one of the four major branches of Hinduism.

The Saiva tradition developed many branches over the centuries, but the six major ones are:

~Saiva Siddhanta (Gorakhnatha Saivism)
~Siva Advaita
~Pashupata Saivism
~Siddha Saivism
~Kashmir Saivism
~Vira Shaivism

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s