Ayurveda identifies six predominant tastes; sour (amla), salty (lavana), sweet (madhura), astringent (kashaya), pungent (katu) and bitter (tikta). Each of these tastes is made up of a combination of the five elements, and tikta is considered to be predominantly air and ether.

Although Tikta is a bitter and generally unpleasant taste, it is important to incorporate it into a balanced diet according to Ayurveda. Tikta foods tend to be cool, light and dry in character. Consuming these foods is thought to be balancing for Pitta and Kapha, but aggravating to Vata.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s