Category Archives: Spirituality


Mahasamadhi is the state a yogi enters when they consciously make the decision to leave their body. This is only possible once they have already achieved God realization, or nirvikalpa samadhi, in which the yogi recognizes and experiences their true oneness and unity with God. To enter nirvikalpa samadhi is also to experience non-duality, where the perception of a duality of subject and object no longer exists. A yogi who has attained this is said to already dwell in a permanently enlightened state, which gives them the potential to enter mahasamadhi.

Mahasamadhi is a different experience to the death that happens for unenlightened beings. To enter mahasamadhi is an event that occurs only once. In making the decision to release their mortal body, the yogi also extinguishes their karma, thus ceasing the cycle of death and rebirth.


Gurukul is a traditional school in India with students (shishya) living near their guru, often in the same dwelling, as a sort of family. Before British rule, the gurukuls were South Asia’s main form of education. This type of education is sacred in Hinduism as well as in other religious traditions such as Jainism, Sikhism and Buddhism.

The name comes from the Sanskrit guru, meaning “teacher,” and kul, meaning “domain.” It translates as “domain or family of the guru.” An ashram, for example, is known as a gurukul.

~The Star Beings Explain~

The Star Beings explain
There is a diversity of worlds in the cosmos from where you have come from, and these worlds
are different from your experience on Earth. When you left these worlds, these different places
in the cosmos, to incarnate on Earth, you brought a part of that world with you. That part was
energy, or light. It was a gift of light that supports transformation on the Earth. You can work
with the light of this gift right now.
In your spiritual practice you are. ~ Energy Transmission, Unknown


Nabhi is a Sanskirt word meaning “navel,” “hub,” “umbilical cord” or “nucleus.” In the context of yoga, the nabhi chakra is the energy center located in the area of the solar plexus, above the navel. In English, this chakra is known as the solar plexus or navel chakra. It is also commonly known by the alternate Sanskrit name, manipura (translated “city of gems”).

Nabhi was also the name of a Hindu monarch, King Nabhi, or Nabhiraja. He was the last of the 14 wise men known as kulakara in the Jain tradition.

~Asan Point~

The asan point is the state in which a yoga practitioner shifts from focusing on the physical aspects of holding a pose into the mental clarity and stillness that the asana brings. The concept of the asan point is that asanas are primarily a mental practice and only slightly a physical practice. After the yogi has brought their awareness to the breath and holding the physical posture, the mind enters into a calming silence similar to that of a meditation practice.


Saiva refers to the branch of Hinduism dedicated to the worship of Shiva as the supreme deity. Saiva is the name of a believer and is also used as an adjective, as in the “Saiva School of Hinduism.” Saivism – also spelled Shaivism – is one of the four major branches of Hinduism.

The Saiva tradition developed many branches over the centuries, but the six major ones are:

~Saiva Siddhanta (Gorakhnatha Saivism)
~Siva Advaita
~Pashupata Saivism
~Siddha Saivism
~Kashmir Saivism
~Vira Shaivism


Manthara is a hunchbacked character in the epic Hindu poem, “Ramayana.” The evil servant of Queen Kaikeyi, Manthara played a key role in the exile of Lord Rama. Although manthara means “hunchbacked” in Sanskrit, her name has also come to mean “someone who conspires.”

“Ramayana” is the story of the life of Rama, a prince who was believed to be the seventh major incarnation of Vishnu and, in the context of yoga, is seen metaphorically as the supreme yogi.


“Atmabodha” is the name of a short Sanskrit text said to have been written by Adi Shankara, a philosopher who played an instrumental role in consolidating the doctrine of Advaita Vedanta. Advaita Vedanta is a school of Hindu philosophy that shares roots with yoga.

“Atmabodha” contains 68 verses that describe the journey to self-knowledge and the building of awareness of Atman. The term, atmabodha, means “self-knowledge,” or a person who has knowledge of the Soul/Supreme Spirit.


Theravada is one of the two major traditions of Buddhism: the other is Mahayana. Whereas Mahayana is sometimes referred to as Northern Buddhism, Theravada is called Southern Buddhism for its prominence in the more southern countries of Cambodia, Laos, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Laos and Myanmar, among others.

The name comes from the Pali language and is translated as “doctrine of the elder monks.” Theravada claims to be the oldest school of Buddhism and the one that remains closest to the Buddha’s original teachings, having descended from the Buddha’s own disciples.