Tag Archives: art

Yoga {26} ~ Asanas/Poses {15} ~ Vrksasana/Tree Pose

Tree pose is a balancing pose that requires the yogi to stand rooted.

To enter this pose, stand on one leg with the foot of the other leg pressed against the inner thigh of the standing leg. The hands are stretched upward with the palms touching. Remain in this position for 30 seconds and repeat the same procedure on the other leg. If fully extending the arms is too difficult, the yogi can modify the pose by keeping the hands in prayer formation in front of the heart.

Tree pose may also be referred to as vrksasana in Sanskrit.

Symbols {172} ~ The Bishop Fish

The Bishop Fish is a sea creature that looks like a monk with a shaved head. It has a fish-shaped body with scales, a large fin, and its fins resemble claws. It also has a large skull-like head that resembles the miter of a bishop. The legend says that a Bishop Fish was captured in the 1400s by some fisherman and was given to the Polish king. The king kept the fish in captivity. A group of Catholic Bishops requested an audience with the fish. The Bishop Fish communicated to the bishops with gestures that it wanted to be released back into the ocean. The bishops talked to the king and convinced him to release the fish. Upon release, the Bishop Fish gave the bishops the sign of the cross before swimming out to sea. Other Bishop Fish have purportedly been captured but unfortunately, they perished.

According to legend Bishop Fish have the ability to trap a fisherman’s boat in a storm. They enclose the boat in their large fins and hold it captive. The Bishop Fish can find out where the daughter of the fisherman lives. It then takes the daughter and feasts upon her and absorbs her energy. When the Bishop Fish is done eating it releases the ship and the weather clears up.

Did You Know {172} ~ Smiles Are Innate, Not Learned

It’s heartening to know that your most joyful reaction is something you’re simply born wanting to do. “Individuals blind from birth could not have learned to control their emotions in this way through visual learning, so there must be another mechanism,” San Francisco State University psychologist David Matsumoto said in a statement. “It could be that our emotions, and the systems to regulate them, are vestiges of our evolutionary ancestry.

The Human Family Community Open Threads {172}

Welcome to “The Human Family Community Open Threads,” a project open for anyone who would like to express their feelings, make friends or talk about anything; if you feel suicidal, depressed, anxious or lonely during these times this project is here for you. Feel free to leave a comment below and connect, let’s start a conversation. No judgement, we don’t know until we walk in someone else’s shoes..

~DiosRaw, 16/10/21


Nisthita is a Sanskrit word that means “consummate,” “accomplished,” “certain” and “complete.” In the context of Hindu and yogic philosophy, nisthita refers to nisthita bhakti, or steady devotion. Its opposite is anisthita bhakti, or unsteady devotion.

Bhakti describes both devotional service and the yogic path of devotion to a deity that leads to liberation from samsara, or the life-death-rebirth cycle. Nisthita bhakti is one of the nine stages of bhakti that the yogi passes through on the path to moksha (liberation).

The bhakti path begins with faith, which leads to anisthita bhakti (sometimes devoted and sometimes not) followed by nisthita bhakti, which provides the foundation upon which the rest of the journey builds.

The nine stages of bhakti include:

  • Faith
  • Association with saints
  • Devotion in practice, such as worship or service
  • Cessation of bad thoughts and habits (anartha)
  • Steadiness, or nisthita bhakti
  • Developed taste for devotion
  • Attachment to the deity
  • Emotion and enthusiasm
  • Pure love for the deity

Although anarthas are cleared in the previous stage, they are still present in nisthita bhakti, just not active. They eventually disappear as the yogi advances and pure bhakti manifests.